Playing Catch Up, Typical Days (Bondi Beach and Bagels!)

Hey guys, so Grant and I have now officially hit the two-plus month mark of living in Sydney.  We have a few favorite places, are hitting our stride with classes, and Grant has even been interviewed by the Sydney Morning Herald.  Unfortunately, there hasn’t been a ton of time for blogging.

So here is some catch up:  about two months ago some friends from Wellington came over to Sydney and so we decided to use their visit as an excuse to visit Bondi Beach and a brunch place we wanted to try out, “Lox Stock and Barrel”.  (It was so good to see you Emma and Jared!) The restaurant was wonderful, and had really, really good bagels – which I was thrilled about.  This is a sight that makes my NJ heart happy:

IMG_1044

Also making me (but most definitely not my heart) happy was this delicious Reuben-bagel sandwich:

IMG_1041

And the beach! I still live (relatively) close to the beach! Here is Bondi:
IMG_1064

IMG_1062

And a token instagram shot:
IMG_1067

And a gorgeous pool sort of built into the ocean:

IMG_1065

For some more recent happenings, I saw a koala on campus yesterday:

IMG_1070

And today Grant and I went to the park so that I could do grading somewhere other than the kitchen table.  (I have weekly architectural sketches and essays to grade, plus this week the Digital Art’s class had a midterm paper due, AND the architecture class had a big exam – so LOTS and LOTS of grading to be done this week.)  We stopped off at our new favorite place –  Suzy Spoon’s Vegetarian Butcher.  They have great sandwiches, vegan baked goods (their soy linseed loaf is so good Grant and I have had it for dinner the past three nights (with salads, we’re not just gnawing on chunks of bread over here!), and lots of vegetarian sausages, burgers, and mince as well as seitan and tempeh products.  And the barista there can manage to make a mean flat white out of almond milk (she’s magic).

IMG_1078

Grant got a vegan cheese, pesto, and tomato sandwich:

IMG_1077

And I got my favorite, a vegetarian BLAT (bacon, lettuce, avocado, and tomato).

IMG_1079

The park was lovely, as it always is:

IMG_1081

Then we went to campus (University of Sydney’s) to check out a book sale.  Here are some photos of where we work:

IMG_1083

IMG_1085

IMG_1086

 

There you go – I’ll try to play catch up more often!  And as far as travel plans go – I’m going to Thailand next month for my awesome Buddy’s 30th birthday, and then Grant and I will be back in the states sometime in November. YAY!

Oh wait – some more quick updates – A BIG GIANT congratulations to my brother Patrick and my future-sister-in-law Stephanie for getting engaged recently:

1014209_963918762579_278346265_n

1173908_963918757589_1341052704_n

And happy first birthday to my adorable nephew Elliot!

1231581_10101273035473578_1244971360_n

577910_10152208133573642_1879401382_n

~ by gakather on September 15, 2013.

One Response to “Playing Catch Up, Typical Days (Bondi Beach and Bagels!)”

  1. Katherine, love the pictures you shared. Looks like you are having a fabulous time in Sydney. I know your mom will be excited about your November visit. Your pictures remind me of 2000 visit to Sydney–such a neat place.

Leave a Reply

 
