Week of Wrap-Ups (or, why a 6 month late post isn’t *so* bad)

So, now that I no longer have the excuse of becoming a doctor to keep me from writing, and since Grant and I are moving to Sydney *very, very* soon, I better catch up with this here blog so that it can get back to what it was intended for: letting friends, family, random internet creepers know what we’re up to! When last I left you I had just left NZ for the US via AU (phew!) Christmas break was lovely, and it was so great to see the whole family.  Some highlights:

Image
 
the in-laws (I get a kick out of saying that) received a personally signed card from their nearby Kroger on account of being such big spenders. We all thought it was quite amusing.
 
Some of that spending was on DELICIOUS STEAK.  Steak as big as a big plate.  Bloody yummy steak. (sorry, I haven’t made dinner yet, and am starving, but I mean, look at this STEAK!):
 
Image
 
Nephew!
 
Image
 
 
 
Image
Thats better.
 
Then we drove from Ohio to Pennsylvania, where we got to go on a private tour of the Gettysburg cyclorama courtesy of my Aunt Kay.
Image
 
Answer: a very large, circular painting that involves very clever optical illusions, architecture, etc to make you feel like you are IN THE BATTLE!
Image
 
Image
 
(the lighting made it a little tricky to take photos at times)
 
Image
 
 
Image
The family is rapt with attention (well, Kendra’s just rapt with photo-bombing).
 
Image
 
Since we were special, we got to climb underneath the cyclorama and see it up close. 
 

Image

Then there were baby-showers! (Well one, for Sarah and Jaan, and I’m writing this so late that their gorgeous baby Pearl Pony has already been born.)
 
Image
 
What else? A cat as big as a fancy monopoly board:
 
Image
 
AND I got to go see the big Rosemarie Trockel retrospective at the New Museum in New York – it was AMAZING, and inspiring, and basically proved my dissertation right in a lot of ways/really helped me finish all of my writing up – so perfect. The show was perfect. 
 
Grant and I got to experience Jungle Jim’s, which was full of price-magic(!) and ostrich eggs and cheese (large cheese): 
 
Image
 
Image
 
Image
For New Year’s we were back in Ohio, and took part in a progressive dinner (not, as in, a dinner that is very left leaning politically, but rather a dinner in which each course takes place at a different house.) And even though we were very, very far from New Zealand we still saw:
 
Image
 
There was some great beer from Sweden
 
Image
 
and Sausages was *very* happy to see Grant again
 
Image
 
Also, we played an amazing, crazy board game called quelf – anyone out there played this? It was weird, but very fun. I fully recommend it. (And need to get a copy for myself)
 
Image
 
More art! (I love the sculptor Judy Fox)
 
Image
 
and we drank this wine, it was good: 
 
Image
 
More to come – Manchester, visitors, stuff! 
 
~ by gakather on June 17, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
