TOP OF THE POPS!

So, top of the pops (or TOTP) was a show that lasted from 1964 to 2006 and played music. I was lucky enough to see a recap last night (late night British TV has *excellent* music programs) and it inspired me to make a TOTP lieblings- now, there are way more than 5 favs this time- in true TOTP fashion I tried to whittle it to 20, but there are so many I love.  I know there are a lot, but trust me- from the Stones to Laurie Anderson (yes, there is a choreographed “oh superman” song and dance in here) to Sparks (Hitler stache twins!!!) to Bowie, these are ALL worth watching. (and let me know your favorite- I really want to know!) so wait the needed load time and enjoy.

quick note: some of these can’t be played from the site- just click the “watch on youtube” link for hassle free enjoyment.

THE OSMONDS: CRAZY HORSES

the first may well be the best- this is a genuinely good rock arena/metal song by the Osmonds- who would have thought?!?! (and you can’t beat that chicken dance)

NIRVANA: SMELLS LIKE TEEN SPIRIT

now this is one of the rare times where TOTP was IMPORTANT- Cobain (one of my first crushes after Luke Skywalker – although he scared me because he was dead and all) (and yes, my favorite Nirvana album in unplugged in New York- I mean, Lead Belly and Bowie covers? yes please) did a very very odd vocal rendition of his classic

T-REX: GET IT ON

“dirty sweet and you’re my girl” -what lass doesn’t want the sexy sexy lead singer of T-REX to say that about her?  This is a great song by a great band, but through the power of TOTP Elton John is on piano!!!

 

THE WHO: WON’T GET FOOLED AGAIN

oh dear lord do I ever tip my hat to the new constitution- I love the Who beyond reasonable boundaries- and although there are many songs I love more, this is the only one making it to TOTP

 

EDISON LIGHTHOUSE: LOVE GROWS

I have always loved this song, but it became super special when I saw that the artist Walter Dahn, in lieu of writing an exhibition article on his friend (my PhD topic) Rosemarie Trockel- he just typed up the words to this song.

 

THE CRAZY WORLD OF ARTHUR BROWN: FIRE

costumes! fire! fire costumes!

 

ROY ORBISON: CRYING

my favorite Roy Orbison song. enough said.

 

DAVID BOWIE: STARMAN

So very, very, very, very good- the song is not as well known but worth a full listen (the chorus is amazing), even if Bowie does look like Miranda from “Sex and the City” here  (also, look at the guitar player’s MAJOR sideburns)

 

STRAY CATS: RUNAWAY BOYS

one of the first bands I ever liked- my cousin Sarah would let me listen to her cassettes of them (when she moved on the Beastie Boys she only let me listen if I couldn’t make out the lyrics- so responsible!

ROD STEWART: MAGGIE MAY

beautiful song AND John Peel on mandolin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

SPARKS: THIS TOWN AIN’T BIG ENOUGH FOR THE BOTH OF US

ok guys, real talk here – do you know about sparks (especially YOU little brothers???) they are an awesome band consisting of  a set of twins that don’t look like twins because one has lustrous locks and the other a hitler stache. I love them. They have a record called “kimono my house” LOVE THEM

SPARKS (AGAIN): GET IN THE SWING

I really love Sparks- I came late to the game and I love the twins- and so, due to leather panties, and good hitler stache twin looks, they get TWO videos:

HERMANS HERMITS

fuck you, Justin Bieber

 

BOY GEORGE AND THE CULTURE CLUB: CHURCH OF THE POISONED MIND

 

LAURIE ANDERSON: OH SUPERMAN

as promised, Ms. Anderson’s “oh superman”

ROXY MUSIC: VIRGINIA PLAIN

if you don’t like roxy music, just please stop interacting with me right now…. they are the best- look at Brian Ferry’s jacket! and Brian Eno’s FEATHER CAPE -seriously, just appreciate this, please- so that we can still be friends

DAVID BYRNE: LAZY

oh dear blog readers, sometimes embedding is disabled and sometimes (always) it is sad. here is the link; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gnhxZyd3h-A Now, this is a bittersweet entry- Talking Heads is one of my favorite bands ever- and they were NEVER on TOTP!!! But David Byrne was, and (as any rabid fun is) I am a fan of him too – and have always like this song.  SO please don’t you be “lazy” and not click the link to the song. it is GOOD. As a side note: my dad told me David Byrne was “Mr. Rogers on drugs” before I had any idea what drugs were. AND David Byrne is actually Scottish. Plus I met him once, but totally spazzed out and couldn’t talk.

MOTORHEAD: LOUIE LOUIE

Fun facts: I love Motorhead.

I love Lemmy more.

This cover is not great.

Motorhead appeared on the Young Ones

Lemmy lived down the street (like, I can kick a can to his house right now) from where I live now.

THE KINKS: LOLA

If you don’t love this song, then you have no heart or soul. go away. stop reading this. booooooo

 

SLADE: CUM ON FEEL THE NOIZE

I mean, look at these fashionz! these stylezzzzzz!

ABBA: WATERLOU

you are incredibly freaking welcome for the great day you will now have:

X-RAY SPEX: GERMFREE ADOLESCENCE

this is just a platform for me to say that x-ray spex are one of my favorite bands ever- nothing can beat “oh bondage” for punk licks, and not even the Slits (who I saw live) can beat them for lyrics- they are smart and wonderful and on TOTP (conveniently) -anyone else love this group? I’d love to hear….

WEEZER: HASHPIPE

Oh hai… have we met? I like totally tried to see weezer SEVEN TIMES in high school and was always thwarted (once due to my boyfriend’s earring being torn out of his head)  and yes, I liked this album, and no, I couldn’t find anything from the blue one. shut up.

WHEATUS: TEENAGE DIRTBAG

so first off, TOTP totally makes fun of these “spotty” “delusional” singers.  I loved this song at a very important time in my life and now you have to listen to it.  For those in the know and especially KELLEE HEGGAN  – I loved this lame ass song the first time I was truly away from home- living on the beach of Cape May with my amazing, kind, cousin who took me to see Jimmy Eat World in concert.

THE KINKS: SUNNY AFTERNOON

another embedding disabled- but check it out, I love the kinks http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WGKxMMkg5Rs

still love THE KINKS

and lastly, (maybe not most interestingly) but not leastly:

GERRY AND THE PACEMAKERS: FERRY CROSS THE MERSEY

oh man, one of the first songs to ever make me feel melancholic- I would sneak into Patrick’s room and play the recording of it I made off the radio (he had a cassette player and recorder, I didn’t) this is just….. good

 

BONUS: A TRIBUTE TO PAN’S PEOPLE

Someone, who for their sake if they ever visit Britain will remain nameless, said of Pan’s People (TOTP in-house dance troupe) : “the ultimate proof that British people have a genetic disability when it comes to dancing”

~ by gakather on April 3, 2011.

One Response to “TOP OF THE POPS!”

  1. Can’t pick one. The Kinks win overall for best sound and looking so good. Laurie Anderson – what’s up with that???? And, Rod Stuart, whom I usually love looks like he’s on downers. Even the soccer ball thing couldn’t liven it up. And, the winner for least frenzied teen girl crowd has to be Herman’s Hermits –

Leave a Reply

 
