Research Grant Fueled Lieblings


This week I visited an exhibition of Rosemarie Trockel’s work in Edinburgh- it was awesome and brings me to my first lieblings:

1) The Talbot Rice Gallery’s “Rosemarie Trockel: Drawings, Collages, and Book Drafts” Exhibition

So, as you all know my dissertation (thesis, in England) (or to make it easier everywhere, PhD work blah blah blah) is on Rosemarie Trockel.  It will be the first major piece of writing (meaning in-depth and longer than an exhibition catalog essay) on her work (or so I hope) and so I was beyond happy and thrilled to learn that her current touring show was showing in the UK – but only in Scotland.  Luckily, I got a nice research grant from my school that paid for the trip to Edinburgh.  The show was wonderful, and there was a lot of work I had never seen before- but ultimately….. there was a lot of work.  I think one of the reasons Trockel may not be as popular or as “big a name” as she might otherwise be is the lack of editing in her work, and the lack of major themes or categories.  It’s one of the reasons I love her work, but it also drives me crazy.  Anyway, the touring show was the biggest of her works on paper to ever be exhibited.  Here are some of the works:


You can read more about the exhibition here.

2) Scotland! (well, Edinburgh)

 


Oh Scotland, land of beef and scotch and cashmere and plaid! I love all those things! (Oh, and not to forget Salmon).  Edinburgh was great- I’ll put up my photos on facebook later, but it was, as is so very, tiringly, always the case, very very gray.  So, for now, I’m going to put up some pretty photos full of sun, stolen from the internets.  While in Edinburgh I climbed King Arthur’s Seat:

I had dry-aged beef, drank lots of good, good scotch, and stayed in a very swank hotel where all the male workers ran around in kilts.  I was really sad I had to go back to Manchester.  I was also sad that, although the National Gallery in Edinburgh owns my favorite Gauguin painting (The Vision After the Sermon), it wasn’t on display! Sad face to the max. An acceptable amount of Rococo paintings cheered me up partially.

 

3) Awesome Gummy Coke Bottle Candy Crowns


I always attempt to refrain from adolescent, degenerate text-o-rama internetzzzzz language – but OMG OMG OMG you guys! I know I’m a 26 (soon, too soon) to be 27 year old near-doctor, but I really really love this candy crown.  It’s covered in resin, so it’s not edible, but it will last forever without covering your face with ants like it’s a hand in Chien Andalou.

This crown comes from this etsy store. Here is another cool crown the seller makes:

colored pencils!

 

ok, these next two aren’t really lieblings as much as they are …. not anti- lieblings, but *neutral* lieblings.  I don’t love them, but I don’t hate them.  Just thought I’d share

 

4) Rock, Paper, Scissors Machine

Basically, it’s just a website that has a program that can learn rock paper scissors, and then anticipate your moves.  You can find it here but TRUST ME- you will spend more time than you plan on it. I thought I wouldn’t be into it, and then wasted 20 minutes of conference paper writing time on it.  You have been warned.

5) Alcohol Store Rage

Ok, on the one hand- who *hasn’t* wanted to do this? Just a little? On the other hand- all that wasted booze!!!!

~ by gakather on March 8, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
