Monday Lieblings


Hello- so my panel is over! (three down, two to go).  It went pretty well, everyone seems to feel that this chapter is very close to just being finished.  Now I am stressing about writing a conference paper for a conference in Leeds (Concentrationary Imaginaries) because although the conference is not until April, I have to have my paper finished in two weeks so that they can put it in the collected published volume.  I am, however, happy and excited about going to Edinburgh (that’s in Scotland you guys) on Wednesday.  I get to see the largest exhibition of Trockel’s drawings EVER SHOWN, and I’m doing it all on the school’s dime (got myself a research grant, oh yes, oh yes).

So, you know the drill; here is some stuff I’m digging this week. (I’m too lazy to put it right on the list now, but I’ve been watching “Freaks and Geeks” for the first time ever- and I know I’m late to the game, but that show is SOO GOOOOD.)

 

1) the Fendi Fall 2011 Collection

This line was inspired by German artist Kurt Schwitters and I just love it- the shoes! the coats! the pants! the tights! THIS DRESS:

Clothes like these sometimes make me doubt my commitment to academia and long to be a kept woman who throws parties and needs amazing clothes for all those amazing parties.  (kidding) (???) You can see the whole line here but here are some of my personal favorite looks:

 

2) This Image

*sigh* two of my favorite people.  If you don’t know who these two are then you are sad. (not as in pathetic, but as in unhappy, because these two add a lot of joy to one’s life) This is even better than this photo:

 

3) Poladroid

Poladroid is a download you can use to make your normal (unhip! boring! snoozefestorama!) photos look like polaroids.  It is sort of hard to figure out (ok, *I* had a hard time making it work, which isn’t an accurate indicator of difficulty) but it makes fun sounds and you get to shake the photo and everything.  Here is that Fendi dress- in polaroid form!!

and here is a photo of me and my grandmother (from sentimental to sentimen-cool!)

and then I wanted to see if I could make poladroid explode or become self-aware or something by giving it an actual scanned-in image of a real polaroid photo. Sadly, it did neither. :

 

4) Bad Russian Wedding Photography

Remember the really bad Japanese wedding photos I posted about awhile ago?  Well these photos, from Russia, have them beat (if not on the ridiculous scale then on the just plain BAD scale). They are poorly photoshopped and sometimes cruel and sometimes make no sense. Here are some of my favorites, but you should really go look at them all.

5) This…um…. infomercial … for (giggle) … um (pfffft) BOOBS BIGGER BOOBS
<object style=”height: 390px; width: 640px”><param name=”movie” value=”http://www.youtube.com/v/Vt26Wl3fWEA?version=3″><param name=”allowFullScreen” value=”true”><param name=”allowScriptAccess” value=”always”></object>

I love the sound effects!
~ by gakather on March 1, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
