Wednesday Lieblings

This week I have been incredibly sick- I blame volcano ash.  I also co-hosted a nautical themed birthday party for Andrew (facebook pics are available upon request- I look ridiculous).  The sickness bit, however, is what is important, because it has brought me to a new lieblings:

1) Snooker!

Snooker is a billiards game that involves different colored balls and hitting those balls into pockets- IT IS NOT POOL.  It is so much more than that- sort of like chess + pool + awesome = snooker.  Anyway, the world championship at the Crucible is happening this week, and I have loved laying around and watching it.  Here is the crucible set up:

If you have access to watching this set up, do it.

2) Pierre Hardy for Gap platform sandals

These shoes came out last year, and I thought about buying them, then dismissed them as being too expensive (at 69 dollars) for shoes from the Gap.  This was a very, very bad decision.  I’ve been haunted by the wanting of these shoes ever since, and now they’re impossible to get anywhere- and every single fashion blog I love sings their praises.

Here they are on Tavi Gevinson of the Style Rookie

Taunting me on the feet of Camille from Childhood Flames

and here they are blending seamlessly into the intimidating style of Mimi from brook & lyn

3) Paul’s Monkey Jacket

This is my friend Paul (another 1st year PhD student here at Manchester- also working with Carol, very brilliant, etc, etc I might add). Paul is writing on stupidity and is extremely fashionable.  My favorite item of clothing that he owns, however, is by far this monkey jacket.  It is a silk members-only-ish jacket with (as you can see) amazing embroidery of flowers and FLEAS! and the best part is:

It could only be better if the monkey was smoking a cigarette.

4) Saveur

Saveur is a food magazine, that you can visit online– and I have fallen in love with it.  I currently have about a million recipes bookmarked from it that I want to try.  Some include:

Coeur a la Creme with Caramelized Strawberries

Fresh Pea Soup

Broccoli with Garlic and Hot Peppers

5) The 160 Greatest Arnold Schwarenegger Movie Quotes

hypnotizing, moving!

~ by gakather on April 21, 2010.

One Response to “Wednesday Lieblings”

  1. […] I was moaning and groaning about missing out on the awesome Pierre Hardy for Gap platform sandals a few posts ago? Well, it seems that I have a chance at redemption…but not really.  Pierre Hardy has done […]

Leave a Reply

 
