Monday Lieblings

Oh Katherine, late on the Lieblings again.  I’m still in vacation-mode, but  I’ve started officially writing my dissertation (like, with its own word file and in complete sentences and everything!) but I only have about ten pages (but a beautiful outline!….well, a semi-comprehensible outline).  In other news, my book is now on the real amazon, not just amazon.de and will soon be available at the Elsberry, MO Palmer Library. (yes, my mother is the librarian there). Anyway, on with the lieblings:

1) “Who are You, Polly Maggoo?”

Grant had this movie from netflix laying around, and before I could get Lolita we needed to watch it (Stanley Kubrick’s version of Lolita, by the way, is really pretty awful) (although Peter Sellers is great AS ALWAYS)- although (or perhaps because) I was half watching this French film by William Klein and half reading “Brigitte Bardot: Eternal Sex Goddess (geez I love my dissertation project), I really loved it. This movie is a) just really freaking cool to look at b) just silly and confusing enough -there were quite a few laugh-out-loud moments and c) did I mention how cool it was? Its no wonder though, as William Klein is a great photographer, and that translated well into this film.  I haven’t seen anything else by him, but bought his box set from Best Buy (it came with a free tote bag) and am anxiously awaiting its arrival, so if you want to watch it, come find me and invite me over.  Here are some clips:

Even the closing credits of this movie are funny and cool (the song, if you don’t speak French, is about how …. well, I don’t want to spoil the movie, so never mind, but trust me) check it out:

2) Francesca’s Mango Soymilk-shake

I love milkshakes, but they make me incredibly sick.  I had been craving one all week, and then Grant and I went to do some writing at Francesca’s Dessert Caffe (yes, that is how they spell cafe) they have soy milk ice cream and decent sorbet, and I got a milkshake with mango sorbet and soy milk and it was AWESOME.  I can’t even begin to understand what made that milkshake so special, but I’ve been thinking about it ever since, I’m going back tomorrow for more in fact.  If you’re in Durham NC, go there and ask for it. You’re welcome.

3) Michael C Hall’s Golden Globe Win

Dexter is, as I’m sure you all know, an excellent show (although I’ve only seen the first two seasons so far) and Michael C Hall is amazing on it (as he was in Six Feet Under) – and now he has cancer and some silly New York Times writer made fun of him for wearing a hat over his assumedly hairless-from-chemo head.  So I’ll admit that it was rather emotional for me when he won best actor in a dramatic tv series (or whatever category it was, I really don’t pay much attention to award shows despite what this post might lead you to believe).

4) Anderson Cooper Being Heroic

So, while reporting on the crisis in Haiti Anderson Cooper saved a young boy’s life.  Here is what he said about it on his blog:

“I was in the midst of the melee with Charlie Moore, my producer, Neil Hallsworth my cameraman, Vlad Duthiers, my translator, and there was a still photographer from Getty Images with us, photojournalist Jonathan Torgovnik. As things got really out of control, I saw a looter on the roof of the store they’d broken into throw what I think was part of a concrete block into the crowd. It hit a small boy in the head.

I saw him collapse. More chunks of concrete were being thrown at the looters on the roof. The injured boy couldn’t get up. He’d try and then collapse again. Blood was pouring from his head. He was conscious but had no control over his body. I was afraid someone on the roof would see him lying there and throw another cinder block piece onto him. I was afraid he’d get killed. No one seemed to be helping him.

I ran to where he was struggling, and picked him up off the ground. I brought him to a spot about a hundred feet away. I could feel his warm blood on my arms. I stood him up, but he was clearly unable to walk. He wiped his bloody face, and I tried to reassure him. He had no idea where he was, and he clearly couldn’t walk, so I picked him up again and handed him over to someone behind that makeshift barricade. Tony, the American businessman, gave the boy a wet towel. He was then taken away by someone else. We don’t know what happened to him.

I hope he’s ok.”

and here is a video of it:

5) Awesome Embroidery Projects

like this one:

(this was posted on sublime stitching, but I’m not sure who originally made it) I love the use of satin stitch in it! I’m currently modeling a project of my own after this style, but it is a slow-going process.  I’m actually working on about five different embroidery projects at once right now, and can’t wait to share them with you all here.  Most of the work is to decorate wherever Grant and I will be living in Manchester next year (he’s coming to live with me in England, yay!) and I want whatever cheap/crappy place we can afford to look as well decorated as possible. Also, check out this embroidery I found on Etsy:

Pretty cool, huh?

I hope everyone has a great week- I’m going to try my best to balance dissertation work and getting in my fill of Durham and everyone in it- the vacation is going to be over so soon!

~ by gakather on January 20, 2010.

3 Responses to “Monday Lieblings”

  1. The Fashion Institute at the Met featured the Polly Maggoo movie in the 1960s room of their Model as Muse show. They played a number of the clips from the movie, some music, and even featured a few of the amazing metallic outfits. Haute couture at its crazy best!

  2. back up every word of that dissertation every day OK?

  3. i can hear heidi right now: next week on project runway; “designers, your challenge is to make couture dresses from aluminum flashing.”

    also, AC is such a hot, manly stud-muffin.

Leave a Reply

 
