Book Club, Birthday Parties, Jam-Packed Sundays

I finally have gotten to the stage in my Manchester move (two weeks to go!) where I’m packing my days with everything I’m going to miss about Durham and North Carolina. Last week I went to my final book club (sad).  We read “The Red Tent” (not a fan in the slightest) and had a theme party.  Marjorie outdid herself in the costume arena- observe:

anyone? bricks?

I too made a costume:

Last night I attended a fabulous birthday party for my friends Diane and Tammi:

Today I tried to have a yardsale, but it was pretty much a disaster.  What wasn’t a disaster was happening upon a bunch of goodies left on someone’s porch with a giant “FREE” sign on them.  Here is what I scored:

Swank dress form (with the shirt included!)

Swank dress form (with the shirt included!)

old camera bag

old camera bag

inside the camera bag, a more form-fitting camera bag

inside the camera bag, a more form-fitting camera bag

and inside that camera bag, a camera!

and inside that camera bag, a camera!

and a light meter!

and a light meter!

I also picked up an ALF board game, some shoes, a tent, two cd players, a record player, and a cute leather carry-on sized bag- all for free! thank you craigslist and freecycle (and of course, the folks who were forced into giving away their possessions because of their move).

Finally, on my walk through parts of Durham today I came across this bizarre fake/electronic/alien tree thing:

and a cotton plant! it blew my mind.

~ by gakather on August 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
