Monday/Tuesday Libelings

So, it’s hard to be a punctual blogger when you have swine flu and no home internet connection.  So here is your Tuesday Lieblings:

1) Music in Manchester

this album cover photo was taken at the Salford Lad's Club in Manchester!

this album cover photo was taken at the Salford Lad's Club in Manchester!

So, Chapel Hill had some ok shows (I liked seeing Holy Fuck, the Fiery Furnaces, The Cool Kids, and of course I’m always thrilled to see Quintron and Ms. Pussycat) but oftentimes I was too lazy to go to them, which made me feel old and sad, but now I’m starting to make up for it by seeing some good shows in Manchester.  I must first thank Andrew (another PhD student here studying with Carol)  for being my ticket-dealer while I wait for my stupid Barclay’s bank card.  I’m going to go to London to see the Stooges in May, next month I think I’m going to see the Fall, and last night I got to go see the Slits at the Deaf Institute in Manchester.

But not that version of them, this one:

now with two sex pistols daughters!

now with two sex pistols daughters!

I thought the show was great fun! And, while no one will ever de-throne Ms. Deal from my number one musical idol position, Tessa Pollitt was a pretty tight bass player, very nice to see… and she had a scrunchy, that made me happy.  I didn’t take any photos or video, mainly because I don’t have a camera that actually works right now, but someone did:

thanks Claude068……something

2) The BBC’s 1988 made-for-tv “Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe”

So my parents may have crippled me for life by not providing me with a means of filtering out good and bad tv, but I can’t really blame them for wanting me to only watch PBS type programming.  This little gem really helps their case.  I did a poor job of packing dvds to bring with me (I brought my saddest, most melancholic movies which I cannot stand to watch now) BUT I did pack this and that was a great thing.  I’ve been watching it during my embroidery downtime and it is just as great as I remember it.  Campy- yes, but my nostalgia trumps any slight problems this series might have.  The minute I put the dvd in and the theme song started up I felt great.  Check it out: (don’t watch it past the opening theme- it’s a sad part!)

I think once I grew out of my misconceptions that I could become Peter Pan if I just wanted it bad enough, I started wanting to be the White Witch. She is such a bad ass.

3) Viktor & Rolf

I have loved these fashion designers for a really long time, and seeing their new show (not their best by far, but still interesting) made me want to talk about them.  Lets look at some clothes:

viktor-

and they have dolls! (or they used to, as part of a show at the Barbican)

and their store is incredible:


also, they were using the Simpsons to sell magazines long before the stupid Marge Simpson Playboy cover:

If I had any sort of disposable income I’d go out and be a good consumer and get their Flowerbomb perfume, alas.  Also I desperately want to get married wearing this dress designed by them:

Yes, it is a giant comforter type thing that says “I love you”, and yes, I want it badly.  Maybe I can embroider that on whatever dress I end up getting, you know, so Grant knows whats up.  They do have a cheaper version they made for H&M (gotta love an H&M collaborator) but I don’t like the dress that much:

Finally, you can go to their website http://www.viktor-rolf.com/index.htm and see their most recent show.

4) This Thing:

The future of body pillows! Designed by Stefan Ulrich, this body pillow moves around and has nubbies or something and breathes and molds itself to whatever position your body is in.  Grant says it’s creepy, I say it’s awesome.  You decide:

<object width=”400″ height=”320″><param name=”allowfullscreen” value=”true” /><param name=”allowscriptaccess” value=”always” /><param name=”movie” value=”http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=5509560&amp;server=vimeo.com&amp;show_title=1&amp;show_byline=1&amp;show_portrait=0&amp;color=&amp;fullscreen=1&#8243; /><embed src=”http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=5509560&amp;server=vimeo.com&amp;show_title=1&amp;show_byline=1&amp;show_portrait=0&amp;color=&amp;fullscreen=1&#8243; type=”application/x-shockwave-flash” allowfullscreen=”true” allowscriptaccess=”always” width=”400″ height=”320″></embed></object><p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/5509560″>Funktionide Part II</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/user1964837″>eltopo</a&gt; on <a href=”http://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

5)  Forts

There is some sort of fort contest going on here that is linked up to the new “Where the Wild Things Are” movie, and most of them are sort of lame (or an excuse for hip folks to say “look at all the twee stuff I own! I’m going to put it in a photo with a thrown together fort”.  But it cannot be ignored that forts are great. I want to build one in my room, but that would be too easy because my room is so small it might as well be a fort already- and that fact coming out would make me sad.  When I go home for Christmas I’m turning my parent’s parlor into a mega fort. Yes, I’m a 25 year old PhD student. What?

~ by gakather on October 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

